Here is a blog that describes the feelings and anxieties that occur while enduring an anaphylactic reaction. This person lived to tell his story.

jrwritesthings

Here’s the latest Daily Prompt: Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding, belly-twisting nervousness. What caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

I had to laugh when I read today’s prompt, as my story has a bit to do with fight and with flight, though not in a way you might expect.

A few background facts to preface my story:

– About three years ago I discovered [the hard way] that I have a life-threatening allergy to Brazil nuts. I hope none of you ever have to experience anaphylaxis and look in the mirror to find this looking back at you:

20121126-140016.jpg
– I [used to] have an undying love for peanut butter. There were days my morning/afternoon/evening snack consisted of nothing but a bottle of Kraft Smooth and a spoon.

20121126-140030.jpg
– I love travelling, but I hate flying.

20121126-140042.jpg

Two years ago this October, I was living…

View original post 368 more words

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. I am honoured you’d choose to share my post on your page. I do my best to inject lightness and humour into all I do, and I acknowledge how serious and how scary anaphylaxis truly is. I look forward to reading along as this blog grows into a big, beautiful, [allergen-free] sunflower!

    /jr

  2. linagonzo says:

    Jr, Thank you for those kind words. Your post helps bring attention to Food Allergies and the horrible reactions one has to endure when eating the wrong food. Only people who have lived thru an anaphylactic reaction can write about their thoughts and feelings during the episode, and, from what I understand, it is terrifying. Congratulations on surviving! Thanks for putting your experience into words. It’s a real eye opener! Hope to read more of your posts and/or comments! By the way, sunflowers were my favorite flower. Now I have lots of reservations about them and I don’t look at them the same way.

Leave a Reply

