Origins of Food Allergies

How allergies form is an unknown phenomenon and many theories have been made.  It’s extremely sad to say, but the Medical Field has not been able to definitively explain the origins of Food Allergies.  They treat them, but they do not know how to prevent them.  Maybe they should listen to non-medical people who are in the trenches in the Battle of Staying Safe From Allergens.  I believe the ideas in this blog post will help prevent the onset of a very dangerous Sunflower Seed Allergy.  They might sting some people, but that usually is the basis for a lively discussion. 

With regards to my experiences and research with the Sunflower Allergy, I realize there may be several approaches to a variety of ways that one may develop a Food Allergy.  One approach, and in very specific cases, that Allergies form is thru a constant and repeated exposure to an Allergen.  The body’s immune system becomes overloaded, freaks out, and all of a sudden attacks a very normal Allergen.  By attacking this Allergen, the body, in essence, fights with itself, and, depending on the severity of the Allergic reaction, beats itself up.  Not a pretty picture here in writing, or in the hospital.

When my son was diagnosed with the Sunflower Allergy, I thought to myself, “How did my son have constant and repeated exposure to Sunflower products?”  The answer was amazingly simple – he ate Sunflower products, and he ate them often.  He ate them many times each and every day.  That was the constant and repeated exposure.  This blew my mind when I finally realized this.

Feeding a person an Allergen can happen in a number of sneaky and unnoticeable ways.  For example, several years ago, most processed foods were made with Peanut Oil.  Everyone was shocked when the number of Peanut Allergies exploded.  Food companies responded by replacing Peanut Oil with Sunflower Oil, an even cheaper substitute.  There are entire grocery store chains where I can’t shop because most everything they sell is made with Sunflower Oil.  Most types of goldfish crackers are made with Sunflower Oil.  It seems that young children eat a bag of goldfish crackers per week.  This is just one extremely popular product.  Many chocolate sauces include Sunflower Oil.  Kids eat chocolate sauce all the time in their milk or on ice cream.  Most margarines are made with sunflower oil.  These are very clear cases of constant and repeated exposure to the Sunflower Allergen on a very large scale.  Look at the major labels.  You will be surprised when you look at products and they mention Sunflower Oil.

Now what do you think will happen to the number of Sunflower Allergy cases?  Yes, it’s already happening.  Sunflower Allergies are popping up in many places in a variety of degrees.    My son was diagnosed with the Sunflower Allergy in 2010.  I soon Googled “Sunflower Allergy”, and, unbelievably, at the time, I found only 5, yes five, hits for it.  Now when I Google the same term, I get a million hits.  Clearly more people are talking about it.

Furthermore, Food Allergy sufferers have inherently demonstrated a sensitivity towards developing an Allergy.  If constant and repeated exposure to a known Allergen already exists, this might just overload their already sensitive immune system and cause their delicate bodies to develop yet another Allergy.  It’s better to follow age old advice and to eat a wide variety of foods. Trust me, you do not want the Sunflower Allergy!  Once you develop the Sunflower Allergy, and provided it’s not a life threatening version, you can go to your Allergist for a very long regimen of desensitization treatments.

Just my non-medical two cents worth. These opinions are my own. Each case of Allergy is different.  Please refer to your Doctor’s professional advice. If you don’t like your doctor’s advice, then get another doctor.  There are plenty of them out there, and there are good doctors, and not so good doctors.  A million dollar education doesn’t always teach common sense.

If you know of anyone who would be interested in reading this blog, please copy the URL address and send it to them.

Thanks!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Origins of Food Allergies

  1. About 13 years ago my daughter-in-law discovered that her daughter was allergic to sunflower seeds. She was a toddler at the time and it was surprising because her mother was always snacking on sunflower seeds–even during her pregnancy -since then we always have to check foods to see if it contains sunflower oil. I’m amazed at “all” the ingredients there are in the foods—I never realized how many ingredients I’ve never heard of that we are consuming. It has been an eye opener.

  2. linagonzo says:

    Scary! Sorry to hear about the Sunflower Allergy in your family. Don’t neglect to read Ingredient Labels after you’ve decided to be loyal to a particular food item. Brands use different oils for different flavors of the same food item. They also might change their ingredients per batch, depending on what ingredients are available. Beware! I have several posts cued about this topic. Interesting reading for those who have Food Sensitivities. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. chasm63 says:

    I wasn’t aware of how widespread a problem Sunflower Allergy is. Thanks for giving us an important heads up.

  4. Nikki says:

    I’m all too aware of allergies. I have many, including sunflower. It seems to be a combination of toxic overload and leaky gut syndrome for me. I have gone to a raw food diet to try to heal my gut and I’m *hoping* that some day I will be cured so that I can enjoy some of the foods I’m currently allergic too. I have noticed that I can eat a few nuts or seeds now, but too many will cause an outbreak. At least it’s not instant anymore…. things are looking up! Good luck with your allergies and thanks for spreading the word!
    Nikki from RawGreenAndSimple.com

  5. linagonzo says:

    You’re very welcome, and thanks for stopping by.

  6. linagonzo says:

    Nikki, So sorry to hear about your condition. I have several posts cued as to how to handle difficult situations. I will post them one per week. I am hoping you will return and comment, stating your similar experiences and your approach towards results. I’m sure we have similar experiences.

  7. Pingback: Common Allergies | Histamine Intolerance

  8. Jennifer says:

    It’s definitely a possibility that too much exposure to one food an trigger an allergy – I ate handfuls of walnuts and almonds each day and those are two of my son’s allergic foods. But I believe too little exposure can also cause an allergy to develop. And in my son’s case, once he started avoiding a food he was allergic to, his reactions became worse when he ate one of the foods on accident.
    One thing that’s been creeping up in the news here and there is that GMOS may be linked to the rise in allergies, or at least it’s possible it’s one of the contributing factors, as I’m sure we can’t pinpoint it to one thing. Robyn O’Brien of Food Allergy Foundation wrote about this in her book, The Unhealthy Truth. Here is one article I quickly found that mentions the GMO and food allergy connection. http://www.organicauthority.com/health/are-genetically-modified-foods-gmos-causing-rise-food-allergies.html

    Jennifer
    http://itchylittleworld.com

    • linagonzo says:

      Jennifer, Thanks for you comment and the link. Great article! I agree there are several ways that an Allergy can develop, be it environmental or genetic, or a combination of both. Genetic factors are really hard to identify and address. Mothers should be aware of the environmental possibilities in order to make more informed choices for themselves and their children. For example, Russia banned the import of GMO food products. Smart people.

      Not much has been reported about the Sunflower Allergy because it is still uncommon but growing at an alarming pace. It is really amazing that almost entire stores are loaded with Sunflower containing products. This overexposure will feed the explosion of Sunflower Allergies. Yesterday I talked with a manager of one such store who told me since no one in his office has ever heard of the Sunflower Allergy, they’re not going ahead with asking manufacturers to cut back on using Sunflower Oil. How’s that for PR? Clearly he did not even bother to google the term. I’d like to write a blog about this, but I’m supposed to write nice things.

      If my banging the gong can help atleast one child avoid developing the Sunflower Allergy, then I will be happy. Hopefully this child will be respectful of other people’s Food Sensitivities, but we will never know. Overexposure is one form of developing an Allergy with which I am very familiar. It’s easy to avoid it, just choose your processed foods wisely and eat a variety of foods, which we all think we are doing. It seems that the biggest advocates in the Allergy field are the individuals who have been there and are trying to help others from following the wrong path.

      • Jennifer says:

        Don’t be afraid to write your mind, even if it means not being nice. Maybe you can spark a change via your posts – I’d like to be able to say that about my posts one day.

  9. drybredquips says:

    Thanks for liking one of my quips, and for sharing your experience with allergy. Hope some other quip fits your interests and/or concerns. Happy holidays!

  10. linagonzo says:

    Jennifer, those are really nice words! Thank you! We need to wake this sleeping giant! I tell myself to be quiet, but every time I turn around, I see how rotten people can be. I have no choice but to speak. I’m glad I’m a stay at home mom. This way I can be very productive when I find five free minutes. It’s a very tall order, but I feel up to the task. It will take a very long time. A little chipping away now and then helps a lot. It reminds me of a Chinese saying “A long journey starts with one footstep.” I’ll take a look at your blog.

  11. Reblogged this on The Gluten Free Coach and commented:
    She makes a good point. If we rotate our diet we are less prone to develop food allergies. One good way to do this is eat seasonally.

Leave a Reply

